Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity


Building strong futures for the interior design sector

Coming off a disastrous economy, probably one of the worst (hopefully) anyone of us will encounter, I have vowed that 2011 be a year of good news and real business building.  I will be covering real life stories of successes, optimism and tips on how to grow your business in 2011.  I will also be talking more about sales development.  One reason is that part of MY OWN target market are product companies and showrooms, but also…knowing sales is important for ANY service industry INCLUDING interior designers!!  So hold on!!

Today’s lesson, class, is networking!  And I have a real life success story from one of my closest friends who happens to be an amazing independent representative selling beautiful product to interior designers!

We were attending a motivational workshop at the United  Center in Chicago.  The center is where the Bulls and Hawks play, but it is a little off the beaten path.  So we got out of the all day workshop only to find we could not find a taxi to save our lives!

So we started to walk….and walk…..and walk!  I noticed a young woman walking in front of us and asked her if she attended the conference.  She said she did.  I started to ask how she enjoyed it and wasn’t it bad that we could not find a taxi.  She said she comes down to this area quite often, so follow her to find one..she knows all the best places.  I looked at my friend and we started to follow her.

We got a taxi soon after and all piled in.  I then started to ask what she did for a living.  Guess what??? She was an interior designer for a very famous and large restaurant/hotel group in Chicago.  WHO WOULD HAVE SEEN THAT COMING?

So I said..WOW, we are in the design industry, too!  My friend represents some great lines you might be interested in. I am a business strategist and help companies grow their bottom line.  She said great and we all exchanged cards.  BUT that’s not the end of the story of success….keep reading!

My friend called me to thank me for talking to this designers because  she not only got an appointment with  her, but she is working on a big project and  wanted to spend an hour with my friend because her products will fit in perfectly! (that kind of time given to a rep..almost unheard of!)

OK..you say, what is the lesson?

YOU NEVER KNOW WHERE YOU CAN NETWORK!

Networking is not done JUST at networking events.  You might meet people anywhere and you have to be prepared.

(1) Know what to say when asked what you do.  If you are an interior designer, it isn’t enough to say I am an interior designer..does not convey your value.

(2) Engage people in conversation.  You never know what you can learn.

(3) Ask lots of questions!

(4) Listen

(5) It may not be a direct correlation to your services or products, but may have other networking possiblities.

(5a) Networking is as much, if not more, about giving as it is getting.  See if there is anything you can give to make yourself valuable to that person.  You will be memorable and may come up in another conversation when you are not even present!  They can become your sales person!

Oh yeah!  And KNOW YOUR TARGET MARKET!  That’s when you can define yourself and your value.  You can learn how to do that in a very affordable way by clicking here and downloading my lesson on how to define your target market.

And please join my facebook fanpage.  There are free goodies waiting for you!!

2 thoughts on “Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity

  1. Denise Butchko January 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm Reply

    Good job Deb – really fun story- love it!

Leave a comment